Oh, my word! Is it rude to keep the gift you just made someone?

Or another title I was considering:

Holy crap! Blocking is a total pain in the butt!

Heh.

So, after the illness, a short stint with my hubby in town (man, I miss him!) and getting back into the swing of things, I finally found time to block the scarf I made for my MIL. I have to admit, it took me two different times to get cracking and do it. Mainly because I don’t have anything good to pin to. I tried my bed – nope. So I’ve been doing it on the floor and pinning to the rug – which is HARD! So I need to figure that out. And I decided to try the spray method instead of soaking since it was such a thick yarn. I didn’t think I’d like it, but it actually worked out well for this yarn!

Before blocking, I liked the scarf. But it didn’t look quite like I was picturing. I like it, not loved it.

before blocking

You can see how tight it looks before blocking. Love this stitch, but hoped it would open a bit.

main body

And you can see how thick and tight the main body of the scarf looks...

But then I pinned it out and it started looking more like I expected. Unfortunately, my pinned photos didn’t come out well. But this is the scarf just a while after unpinning…. I wasn’t sure that it would retain its shape, but it did!

after blocking

It opened AND it kept its shape!

But the most exciting thing? I LOVED how the main body opened up! It was what I wanted!

open

I think I'm in love! What do you think?

hanging

The drape on it is very nice! I would LOVE to redo this in a slightly thinner, lighter yarn to see what it's like!

Overall, I’m really excited with how it turned out! I’m actually thinking I might write up the pattern so I can learn how to do that. There are a few minor changes I’ll make to it, but I’m happy! It’s my first design….

4 Comments

Filed under Crafts, crochet, photography, scarf

4 responses to “Oh, my word! Is it rude to keep the gift you just made someone?

  1. thedramamama

    While i certainly do not think it is rude to keep the scarf – i say give it to the MIL – you will have pride in your accomplishment and get praise from her too! Then with all of this new found knowledge tackle a new one for yourself! Very beautiful work!

  2. Maureen Poirier

    ….not at all rude especially if you give it to your mother! You MIL is a nice lady and will understand. Really, she will……my AK address is…….

  3. Absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! You did a great job and I’d be thrilled to get this as a gift!!

Leave a Reply

