There are good socks and bad socks and I’m getting to know both

First, the bad socks…. crocheted. Okay, so I’ve only made one. And I LOVED the pattern. But the yarn was *meh* at best. And it was NOT stretchy at all… Sammie’s assessment after putting them on – “They itch and they don’t stretch and they are too big.” *sigh*

sock

They are super cute, aren't they? This is the same pattern I was using for my other (now frogged) sock.

But I think it’s just the nature of the best – crochet is just not very stretchy compared to knitting. And that’s what has got me VERY intrigued with knitting!

In the last 3 weeks, I’ve gone from knitting poorly to knitting okay using the American way. To knitting poorly trying to make my wrist feel better using the Continental method. To actually knitting pretty well for a beginner!

So I decided that tackling a sock was going to work! I pulled out the #2 needles and just about fainted. But went on…. Then I stitched up a little sample in the pretty pink yarn I wanted to make a sock with and measured it out – perfect! And I fell in LOVE with the resulting fabric and went to town on the socks!

knit sock

Okay, went to town is an exaggeration. It took me at LEAST 5 days to get to this spot! Yikes! I was worried that it would take a month to finish!

problem

There are definitely some problems in the fabric that I don't understand! With crochet, I can tell what is up. With knitting, I have no clue! (I'd love an feedback on what this hole is caused by. Twisting?)

I even had my first needle catastrophe.

needle

Bamboo is very breakable. Luckily I only need 4 and I had 5.

And when I got frustrated at how FREAKIN’ long it was taking me to knit up that sock, I pulled out some #7 needles and some worsted weight (or heavier? Not sure.) yarn and whipped these out in about 5 days. (They could be done in a day if I had more knitting time. They were surprisingly easy, despite several learning curve issues.)

fingerless

I'm SUPER happy with how these turned out! The first one had a few minor issues - didn't bind the thumb properly, as you can see, and a hold where the thumb/hand met, which I fixed in the second one. They are actually both done now!

bindoff

I found a wonderful super stretchy bindoff and actually really like how it looks, too! (LIke my manicure - my 6 year old did it!)

The gloves are a little large for me and I have big hands…. But I have the perfect person to give them to!

Back to the socks…. I can’t believe how much FUN I’m having knitting a sock! I’m actually about 80% done! And I’ve been bad about taking photos, but the heel is turned and the gusset is done and the sock is ADORABLE and I can’t WAIT to do another one!! Yay!

4 Comments

Filed under fingerless mitten - knit, knitting, photography, sock - knit, swatching

4 responses to “There are good socks and bad socks and I’m getting to know both

  1. It gratifies me to know that I’m not the only person in the world to whom knitting does not come naturally. I guess if I’d been taught to knit instead of crochet at age 6 I’d feel differently. I will admit to having been bit by the bug as well, though. I now watch Knitting Daily on PBS every day. What happened to me!

    (I’m happy to report that my bamboo needles, while somewhat bent, are all still in one piece)

    • photogmomma

      Oh, sure! Rub it in that you haven’t broken any needles! LOL!

      As for knitting vs crochet, I am learning both for real late in life. My mom taught me both growing up, but I never really picked either up until just under 2 years ago. But wow, crochet has been SO much better for me than knitting! I’m getting knitting, but it’s just not second nature yet…

      I can’t wait to see what else you come up with! I love reading your blog!

  2. I love the knitting! It looks great, and I would love to know what happened to that needle. ;) As for the hole–if it’s happening at the end of a double pointed needle, it’s probably just loose tension. Try different ways of holding the needles (a different one crossing on top of the next, for instance) or you can try snugging the second stitch on each needle a little extra, just give it a little extra tug when you work it. If the hole is happening in the middle of a row, you are probably inadvertently yarning over. Check your stitch counts–if you have an extra, that’s the problem. Hope this helps!

    I think the red crocheted sock is fantastic! I’d wear them around the house on a rainy day. Mmm, cozy!

    • photogmomma

      Thank you so much! And thank you for the tips! It happened early on so I suspect you’re probably right about one of those two…. I haven’t had that happen since the early part of the sock – the early part of learning this style of doing knitting.

      And if you have a size 13 kids foot, I’ll make another and send them off! LOL! That is, if I have enough yarn… ;)

      (Oh, and the needle was in my crochet and knitting bag and I leaned on it. Whoops! Just a silly mistake!)

Leave a Reply

