My 50mm lens is the bomb diggity!

I am completely convinced that my 50mm f/1.4 lens can make just about anything look cool. Case in point: these ancient pot holders I crocheted and attempted to felt long ago.

pot holder

It's even dirty and well used and still somehow looks kinda cool.

My 50mm is about 5 years old and has been to the shop too many times. But Canon service has been amazing – they must see how much equipment I have and want to be nice to me because they’ve fixed it for free each time. It’s only be under warranty once! When people are debating between Nikon and Canon, I suggest looking harder at Canon because they’re service has been so amazing! I’ve been absolutely thrilled with my equipment, too.

handle holder

And this ratty old handle pot holder? I've actually had to snip off fraying ends from getting burned too many times. And you can't even tell in this photo that I have a filthy stove! Ahh, 50mm, I love you!

Yup! True love. That’s what I feel for my 50mm lens. True love. It’s the only lens I could never get rid of and one of the few I would have to replace with in 5 minutes of actual true breakage.

One note for those of you on a budget – if you can’t afford to get an f/1.4, take a good look at the f/1.8. It’s a GREAT bang for the buck. You may even be able to find one on eBay for cheaper. (They used to be closer to $80. Not sure if they’ve changed the price or changed the product and the price, though.) This is what I started with and instantly fell in love! Keep the f/stop closer to 2.0+ and you’ll be happier with the quality. It’s loud and plastic feeling, but rocks!

___________________________

All images taken with my 5D Mk II and… you guessed it… my 50mm f/1.4 lens.

2 Comments

Filed under lens, photography

2 responses to “My 50mm lens is the bomb diggity!

  1. I love, love, love my 50mm 1.4 lens! Oh, and did I mention that I shoot Canon? LOL! Gotta agree, that 50mm glass rocks … and the 85mm 1.8 isn’t too shabby either! Love your blog … I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

