Back to crochet – this time, lace!

I am starting to realize that I tend to post random photos when I don’t have much time. And I do crochet in  the middle of the week. Interesting. I don’t know that it’ll always be like that, but I find it interesting….

Anyway, I’ve been wanting to do a shawl for a long time. Very long! I’ve even tried on several occasions to do one, but haven’t been happy with the results. In that case, I think it was the yarn – it was too thin and hard for me to work with. (I have 1000 yards of that yarn so now I need to figure out what to do with it! Maybe try my hand at knitting again? Hmmmm.)

Remember that orange yarn I bought? I did that with the idea of making a shawl. And it’s SO much fun! I love this pattern so much. It’s a two row repeat after the FSC first row and you drop a pattern each row. And since you start on the long edge and move towards the point/short edge (depending on how you’re making it), it gets faster and faster each row – which tickles me! I love having it move so quickly!

blocked

Here it is all blocked and stretched out - well, one little section. And I think I was conservative with it so I suspect it'll open even more when it's blocked for real! Gorgeous, eh?

I thought it would take me forever! But I started it about 10 days ago (I think) and I’ve been cranking on it since. I just ordered blocking wires so this will be my first attempt at that! I better do some reading…. And I need to figure out how to get photos of something larger. Photos on this blanket just won’t do it justice in the long run.

unblocked

It looks a LOT different unblocked, doesn't it? I find this so fun! I can't wait to finish and block it! (And use it!) Oh, that little marker is because I like to see how far I crochet each night. Yeah, I know. Geek.

I always thought lacy patterns would be hard, but after doing the Willow Bag, I found that if you can find a relatively simple repeat, you’re good to go! This is definitely easier than the bag… And I just love this yarn color! It’s a little more orange than I’d prefer, but I still love it. You?

too big

Yup, it's too big to lay out, isn't it?

pretty

Won't this be pretty?

(I’ll come back later and link to the info about this pattern! I must run right now!)

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts, crochet, photography, random photos, shawl

2 responses to “Back to crochet – this time, lace!

  1. This is really beautiful. I love the color and the pattern.

Leave a Reply

