It ain’t pretty, but it gets the job done!

I have this FABULOUS square hook (an “I”) that I just LOVE. But unfortunately, it cost about $13 and while I’d love a whole set, I just can’t afford it right now.

Then in the back of my mind, I remembered a post from months ago (I’m SO bummed I can’t find it) of someone who had made their own hook handles using Sculpey. And I immediately knew I had to make one! Frankly, it was easier and worked far better than I ever imagined!

hook

It's not very pretty, but it works so incredibly well.

There are lots of tutorials on how to make them so I won’t even start. But I do have a few quick pointers that you can learn from:

  • Don’t use white! LOL! Sure, it seems cool, but it picks up any colors that bleed and looks grungy. Can you see close to the tip? Yup. Orange.
  • Put the hook size on it – nicely. I think using a pencil would work well. I used something pointy – maybe an exacto? – and it looks crummy. But it doesn’t bother me at all – it’s quite smooth!
  • Try pinching the middle like I did. Makes for a nice rest. I just put it next to my wooden one for sizing and location. But you could always put it next to a metal hook of similar size to figure it out. Or copy any other favorite handled hook!

I’m planning on doing this more with my tiny hooks. They  just are harder to use because they’re so thin.

2 Comments

Filed under accessories, Crafts, crochet, hooks, photography, shawl

2 responses to “It ain’t pretty, but it gets the job done!

  1. preita

    what a fantastic idea!!! Love it! We all have those alluminum hooks too! Think of how pretty they could be with new handles?!

    • photogmomma

      Thanks! I can’t wait to do more hooks and make them prettier. I should post some links to some cool ideas on how to make them look pretty, but I’m sure you can find some by googling Sculpey ideas… 🙂 I’d love to see them if you make any handles!

Leave a Reply

